Flourless pumpkin-almond muffins

I’m not gluten-free and have never really found any reason to strictly avoid foods containing gluten. I do try to avoid eating too much grain-based foods, though, as I’m not sure how healthy they are, especially for those of us with certain genetic predispositions. Plus, I hate the taste of whole wheat bread, so if I do eat bread, my taste preference is white, sourdough, or rye. These little muffins, however, are really quite good. I first saw the recipe on Eating Bird Food, where they contained chocolate chips. I actually dislike chocolate in muffins, so I altered the recipe a bit to suit my taste. It’s very simple and the texture is excellent, especially for something that contains no flour.


muffins1

Pumpkin-Almond Muffins

  • 2/3 cup almond butter
  • 1/3 cup pumpkin (canned or fresh roasted work, but careful not to use canned pumpkin pie filling!)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 Tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 1/3 cup raisins (optional)

Preheat oven to 375° F and line a standard size muffin tin with paper liners.

In a medium bowl, add all ingredients except raisins. Use a hand mixer on low to medium speed and blend until smooth. Fold in raisins.

Divide batter evenly in the muffin tin. Bake for 7-8 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into one of the muffins comes out clean. Allow to cool for 5-10 minutes before removing from the tin. Store in an airtight container for up to 5 days.

muffins2

Leave a Reply

