Red lentil-squash soup

A few weeks ago we picked up the last CSA delivery of the year. Along with garlic, onions, potatoes and other winter vegetables were two rather small butternut squash. The smaller size was perfect for me because one whole squash is often more than I need for my recipes, since I’m typically cooking for just one or two people.

For some reason, I knew immediately that I wanted to make a soup that combined the squash with red lentils. The pairing just seemed to make sense in my head. So I set about figuring out proportions. In the end, I’m very happy with the result.

red lentil squash soup

Red lentil-squash soup

  • 4 cups broth or stock (chicken or vegetable both work)
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp. medium heat oil
  • 1 cup red lentils, rinsed
  • 2 large carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 32 oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small butternut squash, peeled and diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbsp. cumin
  • salt to taste

In a medium stockpot, heat the oil over medium until easily coats the bottom of the pot. Saute the onion until just starting to brown, approximately 10 minutes. Add garlic and cook for another minute.

In another pot, add squash and cover with water. Bring to boil, then reduce heat and simmer until you can easily pierce the squash with a fork. About 10 minutes.

Add stock, lentils, carrots, tomatoes, cumin, and a pinch of salt to the pot with onions and garlic. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer until lentils are cooked, approximately 20-30 minutes. After 10 minutes at a simmer, add the squash and continue to cook.

At this point, you can leave the soup as is, or, if you’re like me, you can take out your trusty immersion blender and give the soup a few passes. I don’t want it to end up perfectly smooth, but I like the flavor of the lentils and squash more blended together. I tend to blend around the carrots, though, which I like for their texture, even cooked.

Salt to taste and done! This is an easy, filling meal that will stay good for about a week in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

