Asparagus-broccoli soup

Like many people, I’m traveling for the Thanksgiving holiday. This means that I need to clean out my fridge before leaving; vegetables in particular really shouldn’t be left unused for five days. Especially when they may be almost that old already.

My plan for last night had been to make and freeze some tomato sauce, but the tomatoes I bought last Saturday at the farmers’ market mysteriously disappeared. (Yes, really. I am still confused about that one.) So instead I figured I’d use up the broccoli and asparagus that were sitting in the vegetable crisper. The broccoli is pretty fresh, but the asparagus was bought with good intentions of roasting it with some salmon that just never came to fruition.

The one piece of special equipment I used for this recipe is an immersion blender. I own this one by Cuisinart that was a little splurge back in grad school. It has served me well and I’d recommend it to anyone looking for an immersion blender. If you don’t own one, this recipe can be blended in a regular standing blender. Just let it cool off a bit first and blend in batches to avoid overfilling.

IMG_5388

Asparagus-broccoli soup

  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 bunch of asparagus, rinsed and chopped
  • 1-2 heads of broccoli, rinsed and chopped
  • 4 c. chicken stock (vegetable stock works, as well)
  • Salt to taste

Heat the olive oil over medium heat. (I’ve mentioned in the past that I don’t typically use olive oil for sauteing, but as I’m only using medium and not high heat here, the olive oil shouldn’t reach its smoke point and is safe to use.) Add onions and toss with oil to coat. Cook for 5 minutes until they begin to become translucent.

Add broccoli and asparagus to the pot, stir, and continue to cook for another 5-10 minutes.

IMG_5380

Add chicken stock and simmer until the broccoli and asparagus are soft, about 10 minutes. Blend until smooth and salt to taste.

Serve as is or top with sour cream.

Leave a Reply

