A note on hard boiled eggs

Yikes! I didn’t realize quite how long it had been since I last posted. I have a couple recipes in the works and should be posting at least once more this week. Possibly twice.

But in the interim, I want to take a moment to talk about the perfect hard boiled egg. Well, really medium boiled. I recently came across this Serious Eats article from last year, which concludes that the only close-to-foolproof way to get eggs that peel easily is to lower old eggs into already simmering water.

I disagree. I like a cold start, because it prevents the eggs from cracking prematurely. What I have found is that adding a Tablespoon or so of vinegar to the water when it’s cold does wonders for making it easier to peel the eggs. Also, never try to peel them hot. Either run them under cold water until they’re cold, too, or just soak them in an ice bath. This has made a huge difference for me.

If you want a medium boiled egg, where the white is solid, but the yolk is still softer, bring the water to a boil, burn off the heat, and let sit for 5-7 minutes. This works perfectly for me using a small (1-1.5 quart) pot and two eggs. For cooking more eggs or using a larger pot, I’ve found that I need to add another minute or two on to the cooking time.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

