Turkey meatloaf muffins

It’s been a long time since I made meatloaf, but the boyfriend was apparently craving it the other day, so we picked up the ingredients and I did a bit of searching for a good recipe. The one that I settled on is this one from Inspired Taste. I already had mushrooms sitting around and knew that I wanted to incorporate them, so this recipe was perfect. As always, of course, I did make a few adjustments. Most notably, I made these into muffins, rather than one large loaf, which makes for easier portioning. I also replaced all the ketchup with steak sauce, specifically Peter Lugar Steak Sauce, which really is quite good, and reduced the turkey slightly, which was really just a function of what we had in the house.

Overall, I’m very pleased with how these came out! I think that next time I might add some spinach. I think it would be a nice addition.

IMG_8899

Turkey Meatloaf Muffins

  • 1/2 pound mushrooms, trimmed and finely chopped (about 15 mushrooms)
  • 1 large onion, finely chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil, divided
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 8 tablespoons steak sauce, divided
  • 3/4 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 lb. ground turkey

Preheat the oven to 400ºF and spray the inside of your muffin tin, if using. If you are using a silicone muffin pan, which is what I did, there is no need to spray or grease it.

Heat the 1/2 tablespoon of the oil over medium and sauté onions until they are soft, about five minutes. Add the garlic and cook for another minute. Remove from heat and set aside.

While the onions are cooking, chop the mushrooms, which can be done by hand, or, for a more even and fine texture, chop them in a food processor. Once the onions and garlic are cooked, heat the other 1/2 tablespoon of oil over medium heat and cook the mushrooms, along with the salt and pepper, down until they are soft and their moisture has been released and has evaporated.

While the mushrooms are cooking, mix the panko and chicken broth and set aside.

Place the onions and mushrooms in a large mixing bowl. Stir in the Worcestershire sauce, two tablespoons of the steak sauce, and allow to cool for a few minutes. Then beat the eggs and mix them in along with the panko and broth mixture.

Now, here’s the fun/gross part. I’ll admit that I am not a huge fan of touching raw meat, but in this case it is the best way to incorporate the turkey into the onion/mushroom mixture. So squish it around with your hands until the meat is well blended into the rest of the ingredients.

As I mentioned earlier, I made these into muffins, rather than one large loaf, and I did so using the same silicone jumbo muffin pan that I use to make my breakfast egg muffins. It’s a perfect individual serving and this recipe also divides nicely into six servings, filling the pan exactly. I used my hands to make the turkey mixture into balls approximately three inches across and then plopped them into the muffin pan. I then topped each individual meatloaf with one tablespoon of steak sauce and used a spoon to spread it slightly, covering the entire exposed surface.

Bake for approximately 40 minutes and allow to cool for ten minutes before attempting to remove from the pan.

One thought on “Turkey meatloaf muffins

Leave a Reply

