Chicken lime soup with cilantro and white beans

As I’ve mentioned before, my boyfriend and I buy a whole roasted chicken every week or two. I shred the meat and use the carcass to make stock. This means I often have a lot of chicken sitting in the fridge and I like to be creative with it.

This week I wanted to make a soup with chicken and beans and I’m pretty pleased with the results. The one major thing I’d change is using fresh cilantro rather than dried, but I made do with what I had.

Chicken lime soup

Chicken Lime Soup

  • 1 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 1 large carrot, chopped
  • 1 15 oz. can white beans
  • 1 15 oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1 yellow or orange bell pepper, diced
  • 1.5-2 cups chicken broth
  • 4 oz. shredded chicken
  • 3 Tbsp. lime juice
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh cilantro, chipped (if using dried, increase the amount)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Heat the olive oil over medium and add the olive oil and onion, sautéing until soft and aromatic (5-10 minutes). Add the carrots, tomatoes, and beans. Simmer for another 10 minutes, then add the pepper, chicken broth, and shredded chicken. Allow to cook until the carrots have softened slightly. Add lime juice and cilantro. Stir to combine, then add salt and pepper to taste.

One thought on “Chicken lime soup with cilantro and white beans

Leave a Reply

