Matzah Brei

I said I was going to post this recipe last week and now that Passover has almost ended, I’d better actually post it. Matzah brei is, essentially, french toast made with matzah instead of bread. Everyone has their own way of making it. Some like it eggier, while others like it more matzah-y. I didn’t know this until recently, but some people even eat it with syrup or jam, like you would with french toast. My family, true to our love of salt, has always prepared a savory version. The recipe I’m posting is for just one or two servings (one for me), but the recipe can easily be doubled or tripled as necessary.

Matzah Brei

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 pieces of matzah (regular works best, but I sometimes use whole wheat or bran if I’m feeling the need to be healthier)
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp. oil

Beat the eggs and salt together in a low, wide bowl. Run the matzah under water just long enough to dampen each side. (You don’t want it to fall apart in your hands!) Crumble the matzah into the eggs; I usually do this by breaking it in half, then quarters, etc. until I have pieces that are no more than an inch long or wide. Mix the egg and matzah together to make sure that the matzah soaks up as much egg as possible.

In a medium skillet, heat the oil over medium-high. Once the oil spreads easily, add the egg and matzah mixture, making sure that it is spread around the pan and will cook evenly.

You should only need to cook each side for a minute or two for the egg to cook.

And that’s it! You can add more salt if you want. I’d also add some fruit or something, because matzah has zero fiber…

One thought on “Matzah Brei

  1. My grandfather was no cook, but one thing he made was matzo brei. I always thought it was the greatest thing ever, and we did eat it like French toast. I don’t often buy matzo, but when I do, it definitely gets made into brei in his honor.

    Like

Leave a Reply

